This summer has been a blast.  As an adult, summers will never be the same as when I was a kid but I’d say this summer was probably the most fun I’ve had in the past 10 years.  Unfortunately, this summer was full of really bad eating and weight gain.  Yes, I kept up with my yoga practice but it was hindered by my poor diet.

My kids have been in school for two weeks now and I’ve started to change things in my life.  I’ve started working on learning a couple of new programming languages, I have more time for yoga and I’ve decided to really shake things up a bit.  More on that in a minute.

When school got out, my wife and I thought of some things we could do to make the summer fun for the girls.  We had a trip to Michigan planned and this time we drove.  We plotted out a lot of fun roadside attractions to look at along the way.  There was a lot of fast food one the road as well.  Once we got to my parent’s house in Michigan there were cookouts and we went out to eat at some of our favorite restaurants as well.  Yes, it was bad.  I figured it wouldn’t be so bad but upon getting home, the scale confirmed that it was so bad.

Throughout the summer work was busy as well.  When we get very busy at work there is catered food.  When there is catered food, there usually isn’t any weight loss.  The good news is it was all my choice to eat those foods.  Yes, I know that sounds funny but if I was forced to eat it then I probably would be forced to continue to eat it.  I’m now choosing to not eat those foods.

Last week was a pretty good week.  I lost 2 pounds and am taking steps to do more.  I am starting the Insanity workout this week.  I know that goes against everything I preach on my Minimalist Workout but I want a challenge and a change for a while.  I’ve gained a lot of strength and want to put it to good use to help me lose some quick weight.  I’m going back to disciplined eating and daily workouts.

I haven’t slept well lately and I know it is because of my added weight.  I plan on being back under 200 by winter.  I think the Insanity will help my yoga practice in the long run as well.  I’d also like to point out that I have NO desire to become a “Beach Body Coach” and make my blog about selling you DVDs.  If you want to buy them, just head over to your favorite search engine and do a search for it.

I will blog my progress, however, because that’s what I do.  I plan to write more in the fall and hope you enjoy following my progress.  I also will be working more on my book that I’ve been talking about for the past year.  Maybe I can get it out by Christmas.

Until next time!  Cheers!