My minimalist workout is a work in progress. So far I’m doing push ups, sit ups, squats and planks.  I’ve also started adding calf raises.  My goal is to add strength and tone by minimizing the effort of my workouts.

According to my plan I do squats every time I go in my bathroom.  This morning I woke up and went in my bathroom and promptly did 5 squats.  My quadriceps promptly started screaming “No more squats!”  I guess it is possible that I need more protein or perhaps my legs just aren’t strong enough to do squats every day.  I’m going to give my leg muscles a rest and cut back to squats every other day.   I also enjoyed another can of baked beans for lunch.  A little capsaicin on the quadriceps and I should be ok.

My biggest obstacle today is that it has been raining for three days.  When I don’t get enough sunlight my mood drops.  When my mood drops it is hard to stay motivated.  Minimizing my workout times has been a real help today.

I did 20 push ups within the first couple of hours of waking up.  This was mostly because the kitchen is my push ups trigger and my kids were very needy today!  My arm muscles feel good, however, indicating I could probably up my push ups per day.  This leads me to believe my legs are what really need work.  I ended up doing XX push ups hoping to push myself a little further.

My ultimate goal is to be able to do one leg squats as seen in the video by Pavel Tsatsouline below –

Push Ups: 50
Sit Ups: 0
Squats: 5
Plank: 0
Calf Raises: 5

