Can Coffee Really Affect Your Workout?

This morning I started my day with a cup of coffee.  I usually don’t drink coffee in the morning.  I’m a little funny like that I guess.  I usually drink coffee later in the day as it doesn’t seem to affect me in the same way it does other people.  I can drink six cups of coffee in the evening and come home and go to sleep for eight hours.  This got me thinking about my minimalist workout and how coffee affect will it.  After a quick internet search it didn’t take me long to find out that coffee can indeed improve performance of your workout.  To me, water is the king and you should have that extra glass of water before working out but if you need a little boost to put some pep in your workout then go for a cup of coffee.

For a long time I heard that coffee was a diuretic and that it would dehydrate you.  Registered dietician Leslie Bonci, director of sports nutrition at the UPMC Center for Sports Medicine in Pittsburgh says otherwise.  “It’s a common misconception that when you consume caffeine sometimes you feel the urge to void,” she says. “But in studies that looked at the urine volume produced over 24 hours whether or not someone consumed caffeine, there’s not a significant difference.” [1]

Do a simple google search and you’ll find more information than you can handle regarding coffee and workout.

Coffee and Diabetes?

Also, according to the Mayo Clinic, people with type 2 diabetes who are struggling to control their blood sugar levels should limit the amount of coffee in their diet.  On the other hand, studies have shown that men who drink six cups of coffee per day reduce their risk of developing type 2 diabetes by 50% and 30% in women.

Controlling blood sugar levels is the key to weight loss so it is something I pay close attention to.  I’m not a diabetic nor do I have a blood glucose meter but I try to eat and drink in a manner that will keep my blood sugar levels down.

I’m Sold On Coffee

It is recommended that if you decide to use coffee as part of your workout routine that you drink a cup 30 to 60 minutes before your workout.  For me, I never know when that time will be because my workout schedule is pretty erratic.  I do drink quite a bit of coffee throughout the day.  I also drink tea (black and green) and a lot of water.  I believe all three have their benefits.

And On To My Sit Ups

So today I have done 20 sit ups and they were pretty easy.  Every couple days when I do my sit ups they get easier and easier.  It is something that gives me a lot of confidence.  When starting a workout routine it is easy to feel anxiety.  Will this work?  Will I be able to do it?  Will people notice a difference?  My answer to you is that no matter what you do, as long as you get up off the couch, it will work, you will be able to do little at first and more as time goes by and eventually people will take notice.

I leave you this morning with a picture of my coffee mug.  A friend of mine bought it for me while he was in New York last year.  While there he bought my wife and I coffee mugs and got us a Starbucks card with an NYC theme.  For Starbucks lovers such as my wife and I we are always proud to pull out our NYC card and pay for our coffee while the barista tells us how cool our card is.

New York Coffee Mug

Send me a picture of your coffee mug!

