Sunday is my Monday at work.  The nice thing is I get Friday and Saturday off and I don’t have to be to work until 6pm Sunday.  Last night my wife and I were out late because we went to our friend’s house to watch the UFC fights.  It was a great time.  We got home late and I did my last set of 15 push ups.  I had a glass of water, talked to my step daughter for a few minutes and then got the idea to do 10 more push ups.  This brought me to a total of 110 push ups for the day.  This was a great experience for me.  It is a personal best.

A couple of years ago I tried doing something called the 100 push ups challenge.  They would take you from not being able to do many push ups to being able to do 100 in a row in just a few week.  I felt it pushed me too hard too fast and on week two I was trying to complete the day’s workout when half way through I was struggling to push myself up and fell down dripping sweat.  It was an unbelievably bad feeling.  The website boasted that hundred of people had completed the challenge and here I was failing at it.  That instance of failure was the last time I did push ups until May when I started my Minimalist Workout program.  Now here I am doing 110 in one day and I believe I could make it to 100 in a row if I wanted.  Right now I enjoy doing my workout in intervals.

My wife started a running program called Couch To 5k yesterday.  This is the same program I did a few years back and had great success with it.  Unfortunately, I didn’t keep up with it.  I stopped running in 2009 and then I had foot problems in 2010 and  continued to spiral downward even more.  My foot is much better now, I have an excellent pair of running shoes (I should tell you about that someday) and a renewed passion for fitness.  What better time to start a running program than now.  Especially when I have a running partner.  I was eyeballing the Disney 5k in February.  I thought it would be fun for my wife and I to run together.  February is a long way off so there would be no pressure to complete the training too quickly.  I’ve set goals in the past to run 5k’s and never reached them so I’m going to put the Disney plan on the back burner for now.  I’d rather focus on running the program from one week to the next.

Of course, I will still be doing my sit ups, push ups and squats while I’m running.  This is a big commitment and dedicating 30 minutes per day three times per week kind of goes against my minimalist approach but I think it will be worth it.  There really isn’t any other way to train to be a distance runner by only spending 30 seconds at a time running.

In addition to the running, I have my sit ups to complete.  I’ve done 40 so far and am drinking water like crazy in anticipation of running as well.  Wish me luck, it’s going to be a fun day.

