I woke up late this morning.  I didn’t get up until 12:30pm.  I just feel tired.  I dragged myself out of bed and into the kitchen.  I didn’t feel like drinking water or doing push ups.  I made myself do 20 push ups and drink a couple of glasses of water and then got cooking.  I ended up unloading and loading the dishwasher and cooking eggs and bacon for my wife and I and then went for my run.  After running I feel too tired to be tired.  It feels good to have my blood flowing and to have 60 push ups out of the way.

Despite feeling totally wiped out when I woke up I felt strong enough to do a set of 20 push ups.  I had been doing 15 but today I felt so good when I got to 15 that I just kept on going to 20.  20 was plenty.  I felt like I needed to stop at that point.  It is amazing to me how the body will build strength the way it does.  I’ve been doing sets of 15 for a little while, at least a couple of weeks as far as I can remember.  I felt 15 was enough to build up my total reps for the day while not exhausting my muscles.  I figure it would be a good amount to stick with if that’s what my body wanted to do.  Today, however I suddenly felt like 15 was too easy.  It is a milestone and it encourages me to keep going.

Couch to 5k day 2 (week 1) went well.  I got my heart rate up to 173 bpm.  I ran a total of 8 minutes at 5 mph which isn’t far but it is just the beginning.  The treadmill said I burned a total of 160 calories.

Unfortunately, I have to get in the shower, make my lunch and dinner and get going to work.  Today is going well despite the slow start, however.  Stay positive and drop and give me 10!

