There’s nothing more frustrating that working hard to lose weight only to slip up and sabotage it.  This was the case for me on Wednesday morning when I gained a pound and a half.  I was upset and contemplated skipping breakfast to compensate but breakfast is too important.  I decided to pull out all the stops and go for broke.

For starters I did 60 squats throughout the day.  Yesterday was my scheduled squat day and previously I’ve done 70 but I have put a lot of strain on my legs this week and was spent by the end of the day.  After breakfast I went out for my couch to 5k week 2, day 3 run.  I felt great despite my legs being so tired.  Frankly I was surprised that I ran so well but with enough water, sleep and protein a body can perform very well.

After my run I did something I read about in Tim Ferriss’ book “4 Hour Body” and took an ice bath.  You’ll say I’m crazy and that is ok.  During my bath my wife went to the fridge to get some ice and noticed the ice bucket was missing from the ice maker.  She called me crazy too.  It really wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  I cooled acclimated slowly with a cool shower while the water filled up and then sat down and poured the ice in.  It cooled the water down almost immediately. You would be surprised at how quickly your body can adjust to a cold ice bath.  I stayed in the bath for about 10 minutes before getting out.  My skin was red but from my research this is normal.

Why did I do a crazy thing like take an ice bath?  Two reasons really.  One, I was trying to lose weight.  Fat burning, from my research, isn’t simply about calories in, calories out.  I may be explaining it wrong because I’m not a scientist but it seems that the body converts fat to energy and has to transfer it out.  The reason behind the cold ice bath is thermodynamics.  It helps the body transfer this energy out easier.  This is the extent of my knowledge at the moment.

Another reason I took an ice bath is because it has been shown to speed up recovery time.  By lowering your muscle temperature lactic acid is pushed out of your system which keeps your muscles from getting sore.  When the body warms up blood is brought back in to the muscles to aid them in recovery.  Many professional athletes swear by this process submerging themselves completely in ice and water for 10-15 minutes after a workout.  This process will also make you want to take a long nap!

After my cold bath I made myself some lunch.  I may have mentioned this recipe before but I take two lean burger patties and cook some beans with homemade ketchup, mustard and cayenne pepper.  I mashed-up the beans and spread them on the burger and serve on leaves of lettuce instead of buns.

Lettuce Bean Burger

My wife came up with this recipe and it is delicious.  For someone who loved hamburgers this is a good substitute for one.  I’ve said in the past that I’m a carb addict and there’s no sub for a good bun but I do enjoy these burgers none the less.

For dinner I ate 1/3 lb of hamburger with lettuce, green peppers, onion, banana peppers and mushrooms cooked in olive oil with cayenne pepper (which is shown to help weight loss).  While I was tempted with the catering at work, I passed on it and will pass the rest of the week.

The result was a 1.8 lb loss this morning.  Now I have to make it two more days before my binge day but I am down 3lbs this week so I feel victorious.

Today is push ups day and while I’m feeling pretty tired I feel optimistic and ready to go.  As of this time I have done 65.  More than half that I need to do today.  Yee-haw!

 

