My hand feels so much better today.  After a mishap with a recliner I had a couple of days off and now that I feel better it is time to get back to my minimalist workout.  I try to tell myself that I’ve been working out every day for over a month now and some rest is good for me but I was bummed to be down.  Sometimes, however, you have to take time to take care of yourself to prevent further injury.  If I had broken my hand then I would have been out of commission for weeks.  I’m very thankful that I’m better now.

Is there a lesson to be learned from this?  Other than the obvious “don’t stick your hand under a recliner if someone is sitting in it”?  The lesson here is to be thankful for every healthy day you have.  It just motivates me more to get in to better shape so I can enjoy life more.  I’ve had more than my fair share of injuries over the years.  Every time I do I try to improve when I recover.

So I decided to do squats today.  I only did 75 sit ups two days ago but I felt like starting back up with squats would be the best course of action for me.  I’m sure someone out there is thinking, “You hurt your hand, why couldn’t you do squats yesterday?”  There are a couple of reasons actually.  When I do squats I move quite a bit.  I clench my fists, along with my arms, abs and glutes to get more power to my legs.  This is a trick I learned from Pavel Tsatsouline.  Our muscles move in groups and are all interconnected in some way.  By engaging one muscle group you cause movement in another.  Another reason is because I am quite animated when I do squats.  Everything is moving.  I wanted to keep my hand as stationary as possible and keep ice on it as much a I could.  For these reasons I decided to take a day off yesterday.

Tomorrow I plan to get back to running.  I never did make it the day I hurt myself.  It is too bad because today is the day I would have been finishing up week three of couch to 5k but that’s life.  I’ll pick up the pieces of my running tomorrow and do day two of couch to 5k.  The only reason I’m not doing it today is because I have a half hour until I have to start getting ready for work and there wouldn’t be time.  If today was my final week three day I would have planned better and made sure I went.

On the bright side, I did my first set of squats.  I did 20 reps which is a record for me.  I’m optimistic to get my day started!

