So I did 80 squats yesterday.  80 is about what I was doing last week.  To some this would seem like a lack of progress but to me I feel like progress was made.  The fact is, I did these 80 squats in sets of 20 which is more than I was doing last week.  A great leap forward in my eyes.  It is a good feeling.  I actually feel like I paced myself too slow yesterday and could have done more but I got sleepy and went to bed around 1:30am.  My minimalist workout has extra days off built-in to it (see my quick start guide) but I can’t help but think that an extra extra day off may have been helpful in this case.  Maybe I should add an extra day off here or there as part of my program.  I’m going to see how my push ups go today.

Speaking of push ups, I’ve gone up to 25 reps per set.  I have 50 push ups under my belt today already and would like to shoot for 150 if I’m able to.  To me it is all about listening to my body and not pushing myself too hard.  I was watching an “Insanity” infomercial last night.  I’ve tried Insanity and think it is a very good program.  At this point in my life I don’t have time for an hour workout six days per week.  With that said, it is a program that will push, push, push you.  Yes, they tell you if you need take a break it is better to stop than to perform exercises with improper form.  I agree with this and it is something I use in my minimalist workout.  When I started I told myself I was going to do things properly even if I could only do one of each exercise.  It is a philosophy that has served me well as I’m not doing large amounts of reps in proper form.

I don’t believe you can short cut things.  If you do something to make a push up easier like arching your back and putting you butt high in the air you will not reap the full benefits of those push ups.  It is better to do less and build your way up.  I guarantee you’ll be better off in the long run.  Do things right the first time and you will be happier with the results.  Life is a journey, don’t try to get to the end too soon.

