I feel great today and I was afraid I would be sore after doing 200 push ups yesterday.  I feel unstoppable at this point.  I can’t say that I’ll keep increasing at this rate but I’ve made a great leap forward and will be doing 200 each day this week.  I’ve talked about it before but I took the 100 push ups challenge a couple of years ago and ended the third week after being defeated in a terrible way.  Toward the  end of the third week’s push ups I collapsed face first into the floor an utter failure.

I’ve wondered, at times, if I’m too old and let my body go too long to be able to perform at the levels I did as a kid.  I’m happy to report that this isn’t the case.  I’m only 36 and have a lot of great years left in me.  If I continue the way I have been I will be much healthier in my late 30’s and 40’s and beyond than I was in my 20’s.  It’s too bad I let it go that long but I did have fun in my 20’s and I have no regrets.  Well, maybe soda which is my #1 enemy these days.

When I was 18 I worked at Burger King while in high school and even for about a year after.  One day I started seeing this old man jogging on the side of the road.  He would be there every day at the same time.  I imagined that he made up his mind one day that he wanted to be a running and went for it.  I would estimate his age at late 60’s, early 70’s.  Since he jogged close to my home I actually saw him for many years after.  Always jogging down the road much faster than I could have in my late teens or early 20’s.  I wonder what ever happened to him.

That guy probably didn’t know it but he inspired me.  I knew of quite a few people who would talk about him so I wasn’t the only person he inspired.  Motivation is contagious and once you make up your mind to do something you’ll be surprised how many people’s eye you’ll catch.  It will inspire others to make their own decision and start their journey to get in shape.

While the 100 push ups challenge is to do 100 in a row, I am still proud of my progress and will get there eventually.  For now, I’m enjoying my success of 200 for the day.

