Sunday I had to cut back on my push ups due to the fact that I’ve been doing some work on my back.  The extra work with my arms made my muscles quite tired.  Yesterday I cut back on my sit ups so I could spend some time in the workout room and because with the added exercises I’ve been feeling a little run down.  I don’t want to burn myself out.

Due to the fact that I do a minimalist workout, I don’t have a set schedule where I spend a lot of time in the gym.  Yesterday being my couch to 5k week 3, day 3 I set aside 30 minutes to go to the workout room.  Couch to 5k is an interval program which I fully took advantage of.  I did a little stretching and walked to the workout room (which is across the street from me) for my 5 minute warm up.  I had a couple of minutes so I did a couple of my batwing exercises with my weights.  I then got on the treadmill for my first minute and a half run.  After that was complete I went back to the weights and did my back workouts until it was time to run again.  I followed this routine for the duration of the half hour.

I feel good.  My legs and shoulders are tired today, however.  I wish my ice maker in my fridge was faster so I could take an ice bath after every run because it makes such a big difference.  Today being my squats day I could use that recovery method.  Still, I’m confident I can get in all of my squats.  I did 100 of them on Saturday and would like to stick with that number.

Yesterday my wife looked at me and said I look like I’m in great shape.  That was a good feeling.  I still have a long way to go but this was the first time she noticed.  It is things like this that drive me to keep going.  I’m enjoying getting in shape.  It is a fun journey and I’m thankful that I have this opportunity.

Have a wonderful day! I’m off to make lunch for my kids and watch USA vs North Korea in soccer. Go USA!

