For tracking purposes, yesterday I did 100 sit ups.

The body is a complicated vessel.  I say vessel because we are what our mind is and the body is simply the vehicle that we drive through life.  At the center of it all is our brain.  The brain controls a lot of complicated processes in our body which is made up of 10’s of trillions of individual cells.  I once heard Deepak Chopra talk about the body and what he said was amazing.  He talked about how every cell in the body works together and is completely aware of what each one is doing.  It is an amazing machine and we are the captains.

The human body was designed to be worked.  It does not function properly when it isn’t worked and fueled properly.  I’ve mentioned it numerous times that I’m a fan of the book 4-Hour Body.  In the book he talks about the GLUT-4 transporter and how to avoid gaining fat on your weekly binge day.  I did more research on the subject and it really is fascinating.  GLUT-4 is a glucose transporter.  By contracting your muscles just before eating for 60-90 minutes and repeating the process 90 minutes later GLUT-4 will be brought to your muscles where calories will also be transported to.  Lack of muscle contraction (exercise) will have an opposite affect.  The calories will  be put in to the fat cells.  If you are actively working out daily, however, the effects of GLUT-4 for fat loss can last much longer.  Truth be told, running doesn’t burn a ton of calories unless you’re running a marathon.  There are other functions at work.

My guess is that God designed us this way to account for our needs in society.  My theory is that during the summer when we’re working in the fields (we probably weren’t designed to live in this modern world) we will burn fat and gain muscle to make us stronger so we can work more efficiently.  During the winter we need fat for insulation.  My guess is that we still don’t need a lot of fat.  Muscle is metabolically active and burns fat.  Perhaps we were designed this way to build muscle in the summer by working and burn it in the winter with the muscle we put on.

While it would be impossible to know, doesn’t this make you feel proud of your capabilities?

Speaking of capabilities, I ran Couch to 5k week 4, day 1 yesterday.  3 minutes of running followed by 90 seconds of walking then 5 minutes running followed by 2 minutes of walking and repeat.  I am training at 5.5 miles per hour which is much faster than I ran when I did c25k in 2008.  This will get me to about 11 minutes per mile if my math is correct.  My goal is to be able to run a 10 minute mile and finish a 5k in 30 minutes.  Yesterday, however proved to me that I have a long way to go before that will happen.  I was tired.  I was unbelievably worn out after running.  I didn’t think I could make it but pushed forward and just did it.  On top of it I did my shoulder and back weight training.

When I stumbled back from the workout room my wife shocked me by recommending I take an ice bath.  In the past she’s told me I’m crazy but even she cannot deny the difference it makes.  I ran to the gas station and got myself just a 10lb bag and took a bath in it.  10lbs didn’t make the water quite as cold as 16lbs does but I feel it worked.  I felt much better after my ice bath.

I was watching the Olympics last night and Ryan Lochte swam in an event and when it was over he went to the diving pool and swam slow laps.  The commentator explained that he was doing this to push the lactic acid out of his muscles.  He called this process a warm down.  The commentator also pointed out how red his muscles were once he finished his race.  I’ve noticed this on other swimmers since.  Again, this is the lactic acid.  By doing a warm down, Lochte was able to race a little while later.

Speaking of the Olympics, I saw an interview with our women’s gymnastic team before the games started.  They mentioned that Gabby Douglas was coming in as an underdog.  A view Gabby did not agree with.  Last night that underdog became a gold medal national hero.

Go Inspire

