Ok so today’s post’s title isn’t great.  In fact, it’s pretty bad.  It is slightly descriptive, however.  I took a day of rest yesterday and now I’m back to working out.  My day of rest was good, I guess.  All day I felt as if I should be getting down to do some kind of workout.  I thought “well maybe I could do a few sit ups” but I resisted.  I felt like I just needed to move.  It really is true what they say about humans being creatures of habits.  I am in the habit of working out every day and when I didn’t workout yesterday my mind was telling me to get going.  It is a good feeling to have formed such a great habit but I really needed a day to let my body rest and not have to perform.  As a result of taking a day off I have to say I feel good.  My muscles are rested, they no longer feel tired and my first set of sit ups was 30 reps which felt great.  I plan on doing at least 100 more sit ups today, hopefully more.

So day one of Weight Watchers was not that great.  One, I didn’t lose anything this morning.  On Slow Carb Diet I lose almost every day. Due to binge day I was up 3 1/2 lbs and usually lose it all within two days.  I’m afraid that the spikes in insulin over the course of the day due to adding carbs back in to my diet (bread) may block that loss from occurring.  I’m holding out that tomorrow I’ll have a big loss.  If not, the added weight is likely to stay until I naturally lose it.  On Weight Watchers you can expect a 1-2 lb loss per week.  This is not good news for me but maybe I can achieve more weight loss with some discipline in what I’m eating as opposed to how much I eat.

For example, if I stick with eggs for breakfast and substitute turkey bacon which is fewer points than pig bacon I can perhaps eat the same amount and lose more.  This is purely hypothetical at this point.  Weight Watchers tells you you should eat all your points but I have been eating a much lower amount of calories than I should be for a couple of months now and I have been very successful.  I’ve not only lost fat but I’ve gained muscle.  From research I’ve done online, I should be eating somewhere in the neighborhood of 2,200 calories per day to lose weight.  About 1,700 for “extreme” fat loss.  Unfortunately, the body can only lose weight so fast.  I have been eating about 1,400 calories per day, have not been hungry and have been losing weight kind of slow but steady.  Slow, only because I’ve made some mistakes along the way.

Another problem I have had on Weight Watchers is stomach pains every time I eat.  After curing my carb addiction I seem to no longer have a tolerance for those nasty critters.  On binge day, when I eat anything, I expect to have some stomach pains.  I worry about the day when I don’t have stomach pains from bad carbs.  Then what?  Am I an addict again?  Much research needs to be done but I feel I am doing very well.

This morning I woke up with a sore neck and shoulders.  Is this what happens when people who work out every day take a day off?  When you start a workout program you can expect the opposite.  I think my body is in shock from not moving.  I’ve been doing some stretching and a lot of the pain is going away.  More water, stretching and perhaps some potassium and I should be good as new.

I wish you the best today!  Go out, get moving, drink plenty of water and smile.

