I’ll make a confession, I’ve only been aware of green coffee for less than 48 hours.  I was having a conversation with my mom about nutrition and diet and she said all of a sudden everyone is talking about green coffee.  She wasn’t sure what it was or where you get it but it piqued my interest.  It was later that day I saw a commercial for a fat burning supplement (I would never endorse these supplements) in which they now have green coffee extract as an ingredient.  Maybe I’ve heard of this green coffee before and never noticed it but I’m certainly taking notice of it now.

I did a little bit of research and discovered even Starbucks is on board with green coffee.  I asked my wife about the green coffee and she had never heard of it either.  Today, however, she came home from Starbucks with an energy drink that contained green coffee.  Ok, what is this stuff and why is it popping up.  What is the universe trying to tell me?

Hey, Wikipedia!  Whats up with this stuff?  I started by reading the Green Coffee article on Wikipedia.  According to my favorite knowledge center, green coffee is unroasted coffee beans.  They’re green, hence the name.  Dr. Joe Vinson, a doctor at the University of Scranton did a study.  Wait… he didn’t just do a study, he did a “randomized double-blind placebo-controlled crossover study”.  Now if that isn’t convincing then I don’t know what is.  He found that there was a correlation between the consumption of green coffee and weight loss.  Now here’s the kicker.  While he saw results, no one is exactly sure why the subjects of the study lost weight.  The theory is that the high amount of chlorogenic acid reduces the absorption of glucose and lowers hypoglycemic peaks.  While, there isn’t any evidence to support this, I am willing to experiment myself.

My next dilemma is where to get the green coffee beans.  There are several places I’ve found online that sell them.  It isn’t hard to find organic green coffee beans at a similar price to the roasted beans you find in the store.  I’m considering buying a pound or half pound to see what happens.  I’m going to look locally first however.

I plan to try drinking green coffee for a week or two and hope for the best.  I’ve tried experiments like this in the past with dismal results.  There was the week where I drank green tea with pepper in it for a whole week.  No, not just a cup a day but pretty much that was all I drank at work for a week.  It tasted terrible and I lost no extra weight.  I read that the EGCG would just melt my fat away.  That didn’t happen.

Did you enjoy the guest post from my wife yesterday?  She’s a cool woman.  Yeah it’s cheese and cliché but she’s my best friend and after 7 1/2 years of marriage I’m still very much in love.

I did 130 sit ups yesterday.  While I have done 130 sit ups in a day in the past, I did them mostly in sets of 40.  The last set of 10 was shortly after my last set of 40.  I feel my abs are strong and getting better daily.  If the green coffee blasts the fat off them I’ll have a 6 pack.

Let me know if you’ve tried green coffee or know anything about it.

