I got back on the treadmill yesterday and did week 6, day 1 of couch to 5k.  While my legs are quite strong and my lungs felt great for the duration of the run, my torso cramped up pretty bad and I didn’t know if I could finish.  I was listening to an audio book which has become a great tool because it provides a distraction.  With that said, the cramps were pretty bad and required a lot of stretching and deep breathing during the walking intervals.  I ended up pushing through it and finishing, but this morning my legs are quite tired.

After running yesterday I should have taken an ice bath.  I would have felt a lot better today.  I have no doubt I’ll feel better tomorrow but for today I understand the importance of my ice baths and the more and more I work out, the more and more I believe in the power of ice to heal.

If you are doing Couch to 5K, please do not take two weeks off because it’ll come back to bite you in the end.  Believe me, from here on out I’m running 3 days per week.  This is a goal I’m setting.  I want to do 3 days per week for the next 4 weeks.  I need to create some system of reward for accomplishing this.

Speaking of goals, I set a goal to do 130 reps of each exercise, each day, for the next week.  Yesterday I did 130 push ups.  I got a little lazy and could have done more but goals are there to be reached and I reached my goal yesterday.  Next week I’ll set my goal higher.  Instead of focusing on what I could have done, I want to celebrate what I have done.  It is important for people to focus on positive, rather than the negative.

Today I’m doing sit ups.  40 sit ups at a time.  My hope is to do 4 sets of 40 but the goal is 130 reps.

