Self-Efficacy, or one’s own ability to complete a task and reach goals, is a concept I’ve been studying lately.  Not only have I been reading about it but iTunes U has lectures from universities about it.  This is a concept everyone should read and understand.

In my opinion, education is the key to everything.  The better you understand why you do something a certain way or feel a certain way, the better you can work to correct this behavior or feeling.  If I have no motivation and can’t get myself up off the couch to work out then there is a reason behind that.  Sometimes there is no other reason that you’re not working out other than the fact that you think your muscles will hurt or that it’ll be hard.  Finding ways to reverse this attitude is essential to being successful in working out or dieting.

There are some theories and methods used to explain the reasons behind self-efficacy.  While I am still working on my studies of self-efficacy, I am refraining from trying to describe all the theories behind it.  Usually, I try to give you, the reader, all the information behind the subjects of my post, today, however, I’m going to show you a couple of theories and ask you to read a couple of different sites on the internet.

Four theoretical approaches behind self-efficacy –

  • Social Cognitive Theory
  • Social Learning Theory
  • Self-Concept Theory
  • Attribution Theory

More information on self-efficacy and theoretical approaches can be found on Wikipedia.

I also found a study on self-efficacy that has been titled Goal Setting and Self-Efficacy During Self-Regulated Learning.

Now you have a goal, some homework and a little direction.  Do a little reading and some soul searching and find an approach that works best for you.  If you don’t read further then maybe I’ll write more later when I have a little more time and knowledge.

