Again, I don’t want to argue politics on my blog.  But I’m going to comment on the Democratic National Convention.  If you’d like to tell me how wrong I am then please follow me on twitter and we’ll battle it out there.  I am a more conservative leaning guy but I am not a democrat or a republican.  I enjoyed very inspirational stories from the republican side and decided to give the democrats equal attention.  It’s only fair.

I tend to be very critical of President Obama but he is our president and we should support him and give him credit whenever possible.  Last night, if you missed his speech, you missed one that was well delivered and very inspiring.  Barak Obama is a great public speaker.  He has a way of firing up the troops and making you feel as if everything is going to be ok.  To me, the speech was great.

I believe that there are good things and bad things happening to us at any given moment.  What we choose to focus on becomes our reality.  I went in to this speech with a positive focus.  I told myself it was going to be great.  He didn’t disappoint.  In fact, I listened to the speech twice.  He gave me a sense of optimism by telling us all the ways in which, he believes, the country is better and how it will only get better.  When someone like me can see that in a speech by someone they rarely agree with politically then this proves my theory.  Focus on positive things today and your reality will be positive.  If you choose to focus on the negative and complain then bad things will happen in your life.

I know I sound like a hippie but this is something that fits in to the self-efficacy theories I’ve been reading about.  Start your day by brushing your teeth and smiling to yourself in the mirror.  You will be amazed at how good this can make you feel.  If it is weird to smile at yourself in the mirror then keep doing it every day until it feels better.  That feeling of weirdness is you changing something that isn’t working.  Keep it up!

