So I wrote a couple of days ago about my shoulder pain.  I don’t suggest you use me as an example but I really don’t have the time or money to go to the doctor this week.  I found a website, which I feel would set a bag example if I linked here, that is supposed to ask you the same questions a doctor would to give you a rough diagnosis.  This is probably equal to calling a repair shop and saying your car is making a certain noise and asking them to tell you what is wrong without looking at it.  I once thought I had a simple brake problem and it turned out my bearings were bad.  BIG difference.  This website suggested that I possibly had a rotator cuff injury and told me I should see a doctor.

I decided to do further research and found that doing too many push ups can cause this type of injury.  I also read about what the rotator cuff is.  It is a group of muscles and their tendons that stabilize the shoulder.  The funny thing that I always find about bones is that without muscles and tendons we would just fall apart.  I do, however, think I would still have bad sinuses even if I was just a skeleton.  Oh and further away from the topic, my 4 year old is going to be the cutest skeleton for Halloween.  Now back to the topic.

I used to have a manager that boasted that he once pitched an inning for the Chicago Cubs and struck out Reggie Jackson before tearing his rotator cuff and ending his career.  Yeah, he only pitched one inning (less than that really) but that’s a whole lot more than most of us will ever do and he struck out one of the greatest hitters of all time.  The pain I’m having isn’t really too bad unless I’m trying to do push ups or throw a ball.  Reaching in certain directions also upsets my shoulder.  Seeing rotator cuff on that website was scary to me after hearing of my old manager’s career ending injury but I think it is probably just a strain and not a tear.  I’ve torn and pulled muscles in the past and know that the pain is far worse.

Surprisingly the rehabilitation process for a rotator cuff is more exercise.  I’ll be out of commission for a while as far as push ups are concerned but there are other workouts I will need to do to strengthen my shoulder and get myself back into the game.  Twitter is an amazing place and a while back I developed a friendship with one of my followers who is in to working out and used to read my food blog.  Aaron is a weight lifter who is capable of lifting weights that would tear my arms off like a cartoon character if I tried to pick it up.  He is also a psychologist who taught me that working out is about a lot more than just picking things up.  He’s been a great source of inspiration and advice as well as good for a few laughs along the way.  Did I mention he also writes an incredible blog called “The Platform Sutra“?

I digress, Aaron told me that he injured his rotator cuff just a few months back and gave me some great exercises to do.  If you have a rotator cuff problem and are interested, look in to “Kneeling band pull-aparts, Internal rotations and eventually overhead band pull-aparts after you get some stability.”  This is a direct quote from Aaron but I’m sure he would suggest you see a doctor before taking his advice and I would as well.

If you don’t have any resistance bands then you could use the exercises shown on Wikipedia.

I’m going to follow the advice I’ve been given.  I need to strengthen my shoulder muscles anyway.  I believe I will be back and better than ever in no time.  So far I haven’t read an estimate of how long I should anticipate being out but I’ll update you along the way.  I also plan to use ice therapy for my shoulder.  There is a lot of new research out there that suggests that the cold is a powerful healer.  If you haven’t already seen Dr. Jack Kruse’s Ted Talk, I suggest you check it out.  It is incredible stuff.

