A couple of days ago I started to write a blog post about how I had hit a plateau.  Yes, anyone who has dieted is no stranger to plateaus.  For me, I had been the same weight for a week.  My diet wasn’t perfect early in the week but it had been for a few days.  I blame myself because I know that eating healthy doesn’t always mean you’re getting your full nutrition.  For whatever reason, I lose weight best when I include olive oil and lettuce in my diet.  I also like to splash in some balsamic, red wine vinegar or lemon juice.

As luck would have it, I got a call from my boss at work telling me they could use me if I could make it in early.  I love my job but working in television takes a lot of dedication.  So I ended the post and off I went.  For this, I apologize because I kind of left everyone hanging.

So before bed that night I ate my “Plateau Buster” as I like to call it.  I woke up the next morning (yesterday) and had lost 2 lbs.  How do you like them apples?  I like them green and sour myself.  The lesson here is to include healthy fat in your diet and eat plenty of leafy greens.  It also doesn’t hurt to include some kind of vinegar, although I don’t know the specifics of why.  I like to imagine that vinegar is some magic liquid that makes you healthy.

Lately I’ve been working on strengthening my shoulders.  My right rotator cuff is strained and I’ve been following a specific set of exercises to get it back in shape.  While the exercises are a little painful, but I’m told this is normal.  I also have noticed a difference in how I feel when I’m not working out my shoulders.  I am feeling better even if there is some pain still there.  Ice therapy has also been a big help.  I ice my shoulder every other day for about an hour.  Yesterday I iced it for a half hour and had to get up to help one of my kids with something.  The muscles had a chance to warm up a little which, from what I understand, causes a rush of blood to the muscle which promotes healing.  I then iced my shoulder for another half hour.  I’m hoping this helped.

I’ve also been working on my book this week.  It is a real challenge to write something like a book.  I want to write a lot about my experiences with diet, specifically my struggle and how I learned to get control of my body as well as my minimalist workout.  A friend of mine sent me a picture from 2008 and I was astonished by how big I was.  I’ve have decided to include it in the book.

I feel like I have a lot of things in the works and hope I can give you, the reader, a lot of great information.  I hope to inspire you.  Have a wonderful day.

