Click here to see my 7 Point Plan To Fitness Success

This phase is one of the most subjective phases in my 7 Point Plan.  In fact, I may not be able to list all the ways in which you can accomplish this phase but this is something that is very important for so many reasons.

When I started this blog in late May 2012 I did so with the intention of using it to track my workouts.  I figured eventually people would read it so I made my posts narrative.  This is mostly because I love writing.  I like to share my experiences with other people.  A blog may not be for everyone.  Regardless of whether you start a blog or choose some other method of tracking your workouts you want to think about a couple of different things while you’re writing.

The first thing you want to do is write down how many reps you did and how many sets of each rep.  A rep, or repetition, is you doing the exercise one time.  So for example, one push up, one sit up or one squat.  A set is a group of reps.  So if you drop down and do 5 push ups before getting up, that is one set of 5 reps.  Throughout the day you may do 4 or 5 (or more) sets of 5 reps.  Track them all and write the total at the end.  If you do 4 sets of 5 reps then write your total (20) at the end of your journal entry.

The journal phase will continue for the duration of your journey.  It will overlap with the action phase and will drive the success phase.  You will refer back to your previous entries in order to see how far you’ve come.  Most people have fitness goals that seem so far away. Using a journal to track your short term successes is one of the best ways, I’ve found, to stay motivated to keep going.  Celebrating your short term successes also makes you feel good about what you’re doing and moves you closer to self-efficacy.

Here is a quick list of ways you can use to journal:

This phase is really up to you but you should be doing it daily (even if you write in that you did a rest day) and should include what you did and how many of it.  Whatever way works best for you is the way you should do it.

