Sometimes I wonder if I should still be writing about my Minimalist Workout.  I suppose I touch on it from time to time but most of my posts are about my own health experiments that do not have to do with push ups, sit ups and squats. 

When I first started I didn’t have a lot of readers.  In fact, I didn’t post my blog posts anywhere for the first week despite the WordPress community picking up on my posts and reblogging.  It wasn’t until this happened that I decided to start putting my posts out there. 

I now have 70 followers and a lot more visitors each day and I feel like I should go back and talk about how I got to where I am today. 

I started with an idea in late May.  An idea that I could do a minimal amount of workouts and gain strength and be in better shape as a result.  The plan was simple, I could do 9 or 10 push ups, about the same amount of sit ups and squats so I would do 5 reps of each, multiple times per day and add a little bit each week.  I quickly discovered that I was adding a lot each week.  In fact, I went from 20 push ups to 200 in a day in under two months.  If that isn’t proof that my concept worked then I don’t know what is. 

My point here isn’t to brag.  My point is to prove something that I have said numerous times in past posts.  No matter what you do, no matter how little you feel it is, if you get up off the couch and do something, you will always benefit.

Too many people out there feel that you cannot benefit from a workout program unless you’re killing yourself for an hour each day.  This simply is not true.  In fact, you do not have to fully exhaust a muscle to see a benefit from it.  Also, whether this is a good thing or a bad thing is up to you, but I did not bulk up from this.  I simply got stronger in so many ways.  I see muscles and definition but not bulk. 

Never let anyone tell you that you’re not doing enough.  Get up and do something, anything and do a little more next week.  Eventually you’ll feel strange when you’re not doing anything.  It’s a great feeling. 

