This past weekend I wrote about how I had purchased a blood glucose meter.  A lot of people I know were confused about my intentions since I don’t have diabetes.  While it is good to know what your blood sugar levels are so you know if you have diabetes or are hypoglycemic, I had other intentions.  I wanted to see first hand how glucose levels affected weight gain or weight loss.  In my experience, this is the key to being healthy.  Here is a little of what I found.

I woke up Thursday morning of last week and checked my glucose reading.  It had been 10 hours since my last meal and my glucose level was at 96.  From what I understand, the idea level is between 70 and 130.  Not bad.  So I made myself a breakfast of 2 pieces of turkey bacon, 4 eggs and two big mushrooms.  After two hours I took my glucose levels and I was at 89.  This sounded great to me since I was between the ideal levels yet my blood glucose level had gone down.  This is a typical breakfast for me whether I lose weight the next day or binge and gain.  Logic would say that 89 is a great level for burning fat.

Later that day I had a BBQ with a friend of mine who was in town.  He made hamburgers, hot dogs, corn on the cob and potato salad.  I eat some of all of this.  Not idea food for a diet.  After eating all this I checked my blood glucose level (after waiting 2 hours) and my blood glucose level was at 111.  My friend’s wife is a nurse.  She said she was surprised that my levels weren’t higher and that I must have a pretty healthy pancreas.  The pancreas will release insulin in response to elevated glucose levels.  Of course I gained weight the next day.  I wanted to use Thursday as a test day.  I didn’t want to track the full day.  I had planned on doing these tests all weekend but I got busy and had a couple of social events planned.  I’ve decided to run my full test later this week and check my blood glucose levels on a diet day and a cheat day.

My friends and family still think I’m a little crazy but the proof is in the pudding.  Eating high protein, low carb meals will keep your blood glucose levels low and cause you to lose weight naturally.  Eating foods like bread, corn and potato salad will spike your blood sugar levels and cause you to build fat.  Also, by raising your glucose levels too high for an extended period of time you run the risk of developing diabetes.  Choose foods that are low-glycemic, provide a good source of protein and cut out processed foods and unnatural sugar.  Your pancreas will thank you!

