I’m kind of a hermit.  I work, I sleep, I stay home.  It isn’t a bad thing, I love my family and I love my job.  I don’t really feel the need to get out a whole lot.  Last year I was working mornings and would drive to work in the dark and work in a room where we could not see the outside.  This year I work nights and sleep till noon.  Not exactly good schedules for a person’s circadian rhythm.  On top of that I keep the blinds closed all the time.  I have the house locked  down like Fort Knox.  Yes, I’m a little strange in that regard.

A couple of weeks ago I was researching circadian rhythm and found that mine was off quite a bit.  My peaks and valley’s weren’t high and low enough and they seemed to be out of sync with where they should be.  This was causing me to feel like I was dragging throughout the day.  The website I used to track my circadian rhythm suggested I get a Philips Go Light.  These lights are designed to simulate sunlight, which your body needs.  Typically people use these lights during the winter months when clouds often block out the sun.

So I’ve started opening my blinds and letting the sun in when I wake up.  I’ve noticed a real different in the past couple of weeks.  My mood is elevated and I don’t drink so much coffee anymore.  While my sleep schedule isn’t what my body and mind would prefer, I’ve taken steps to alleviate the problems.

If you think you’re not getting enough sun in the morning, I would recommend you change that.  Get up and eat breakfast in front of a window.  Open the blinds and let the light in.  Maybe even take a walk.  If you simply cannot do this because you get up too early and the sun isn’t up then look in to purchasing a Philips Go Light.  I’ve heard great things about them.

I realize this is an odd post for a blog called Minimalist Workout but I like to write about my life and pass along good advice that I’ve used to make my life better.

