The holidays were great.  I took a trip to Michigan and visited friends and family and overindulged on great food but unfortunately, the holidays are over and I have extra weight as a result.  I decided to wait until January 1st to get my act together and that’s what I did yesterday.  I got up and got my act together.

I started the day off with a breakfast of eggs and several glasses of water.  After about an hour I got out and went running.  I had some problems with my running app and my headphones kept popping out of my phone but I didn’t let it stop me.  The weather was too nice, there was too much to lose by quitting and I just didn’t want to stop.  I ended up running a but further than I had anticipated but today I feel pretty good.  My muscles are tired but not sore.  This is encouraging because it tells me I drank enough water and helps me feel good about myself.  That good feeling translates in to my enthusiasm to get out there tomorrow for more running.

While I was running yesterday I was thinking about something.  I’ve heard from people in the past that they decided to start running and just went out and ran a couple miles.  This kind of story has always baffled me because running just isn’t easy for me.  So I went to YouTube for a little research.  I search for “efficient running stride” and found endless videos showing how I can fix my running stride.  This should allow me to run further with less effort.

When I first started running in 2008 I read somewhere that you should strike with your heel first.  According to many videos I watched yesterday this is incorrect.  Not only that but some people suggested that this type of stride could eventually lead to injury.  The correct way, the way the best runners run, is to strike down with a flat foot and limit the amount of time your foot is touching the ground.  This is something I’ll have to work on.  In the end I hope to be a stronger runner.

My lungs weren’t so happy with my running.  This is probably due to the fact that I haven’t been aerobically active in a little while.  When you work out you take in more oxygen.  Your lungs contain Aveoli which are responsible for exchanging gasses with your lungs and blood.  When you do aerobic exercises you form more aveoli.  Also, your lungs are able expand more, your diaphragm loosens and it becomes easier to breathe.  This will only come with time.

So all in all I feel like this has been a fantastic start to 2013! How is your year starting out?

